If you have your Bible…

I was pondering today. To be sure, I had already had a cup of coffee and breakfast, so I’m fairly certain that I was on safe ground this time. Allowing my mind to spend time in “free thought” has been dangerous in the past, but caffeine and food usually preempt any frightening ventures.

Someone was asking about the pro-life work I do. As I explained, I pointed out that not all churches support the pro-life cause. I even know of one church in which, each time the pastor speaks of the pro-life message, a pro-abortion church member (apparently that is not an oxymoron) demands that he also present the pro-choice message one Sunday so that both sides of the issue are given equal time.

I realize you will have to pause as you read that, so I’ll wait.

Because of the work that I do, I attend a lot of different churches. I’ve learned how the services work in Free Will Baptist, Southern Baptist, Methodist, Church of God, Assembly of God, Pentecostal, Church of Christ, of most non-denominational Christian churches. One of the most interesting things I’ve found out about them, though, is that they all have some things in common.

Most of them begin their services with music of some kind, although the style and form can be quite different. They all offer prayers, but again, the style and form changes from church to church. Finally, all of them involve a message based on scripture, while the style and form changes radically.

The one thing that I find the very most interesting is the thing that is constant at every church. When the pastor begins his message, he will indicate to the congregation that they should follow along in their own Bibles. “If you have your Bible, turn with me to…” comes very early in the message. Some churches do show the scripture references on a big screen, but it wouldn’t be there if the pastor didn’t want you to see it.

Just by definition alone, the Christian church is based on the foundation of the Bible. In other words, if it is said in the pulpit, it should be supported by what is said in scripture. It really shouldn’t take a great deal of intelligence to figure this out. Even the youngest church goers understand this.

So then, let’s reconsider the poor pastor who is asked to preach on the pro-abortion position. How is he supposed to do this? To what scripture can he refer his congregation? “If you have your Bible, just leave it sitting on the pew ‘cause we can’t use it today. But I wanna tell ya why abortion is such a great idea.”

I realize I live a sheltered life. There are certainly churches that do not support the pro-life position. While I wish we could get them to ponder long enough to understand the truth, I’m quite thankful that I don’t have to speak at any of them. It would take way too much self-control to keep from whacking them over the head with my Bible.

~Temerity Dowell

Leave a Reply

