57,556,130

Today marks the 42nd year since the passage of the Roe vs. Wade decision. Unless you’ve been hiding under a rock, you knew that.

Notice that I did not say “celebrates” or the “anniversary” in reference to this date. While it is, indeed, historical in nature, there is certainly nothing for which to celebrate.

At least 57, 556,130 people don’t think so. They can’t. They are dead.

There are people who can tell you how the economy in our nation would be far different than it is now, how social security and medicare would be fully funded and the national debt would be eliminated via the tax dollars from these 57,556,130 people. There are others who ask if we have aborted the baby who would grow to become the doctor who would cure cancer, or the scientist who invented a means to end world hunger, or even the baby who would compose music more beautiful than Mozart or Beethoven. I, however concerned with the statements above, am more concerned with what we are as a nation and who we are as individuals.

As a nation, we are one of 7 in the world that permit the murder of babies after they reach  20 weeks of gestation. The other six are China, North Korea, Singapore, Vietnam, Netherland, and Canada. China and North Korea! That’s hardly a class with which we want to be. Yet killing an unwanted pet will draw people together for a rally.

Over three thousand lives were lost at the hands of cowards on 9/11. Our nation mourned their loss and grieved with their loved ones afterward. On September 12th, 3000 lives were also taken. On September 13th, three thousand more were lost. And roughly 3000 innocent lives are taken every day, but our nation doesn’t hold daily memorials or ceremonies. Many people don’t even concern themselves with the matter. Our nation’s lawmakers can’t even agree to hear debate on a bill that would make abortion after 20 weeks illegal. Some nation.

Individuals are hurt, too. I had several different roommates in college. One of them got pregnant and had an abortion. I was working on my degree and must confess that I paid no attention whatsoever to her. I didn’t care. I was unfeeling. I never thought about the lost life. I didn’t even help care for her while she was in pain after the procedure was done. How heartless is that!

As many young people are, I was self-centered when I was young. The Lord had not caught up with me and gotten my attention yet. And, I had never been confronted with the sanctity of a human life before.

All of that has changed now. All of it. Looking back, I recognize the signs of grief and loss that my roommate experienced right in front of me. This makes me wonder, how do the millions of women who have had an abortion deal with their loss?

According to the Elliott Institute, psychological disorders are common among these women. These are women who are walking around at the grocery store, driving on our roads, teaching in our classrooms, and working in places of business, in other words, just doing the same thing as their non-post-abortive counterparts. However, post-abortive women have a far higher rate of alcohol and drug abuse, depression, violent behavior, and post-traumatic stress disorder than women who have not had an abortion. The most frightening information is the rate of suicide in post-abortive women (see the chart at the left).

I’m not passing judgment on these women. They need our help! They need to be given all the information necessary in advance of their decision to abort. They need to know that the odds are against them as it concerns their mental health after an abortion. They also need to have access to the post-abortive care that they need. Some women deny any pain or regret for years before they seek psychological care.

Then there are the people who are like I was when I was still in college, self-centered with no respect for human life, loss, grief, or concern for the issue at all. They simply cannot see everything that is lost when a baby’s life is taken.

I grieve for a nation and its people who have no regard for the unborn. If they will not consider human baby as precious, they have little hope.

And I grieve for 57,556,130 lives.

Leave a Reply

